Subscribe to i4design


Septetemberberber 24th

The American Society of Interior Designers – Illinois Chapter and i4design magazine produced and hosted the seventh annual "Celebration of Design" Gala at Chicago's Chase Auditorium Theater. More than thirty Illinois-based interior designers / design teams received a prestigious "Design Excellence Award." Presenting sponsors of the event were Cosentino and Thermador.

William Beaudreau, ASID, Michelle Banks Watt, ASID, Ashleigh Lessard, Allied Member ASID, Sarah Kastenholz, Allied Member ASID

Karen Norwood, Allied Member ASID

Renee Dion, Allied Member ASID, Bonnie Rhodes of Lalique, Mitchell M. Obstfeld, M. Grace Sielaff, ASID and Rosalinda Pegnato, ASID

Mike Kaufman, Joan Kaufman, ASID, Claudio Balbo of Cosentino and Robin Balbo, Deb Reinhart and Megan Pelaar of Deb Reinhart Interior Design Group, Inc.

Peggy Hoffman, Carol Abrams, Allied Member ASID

Gemma Parker-McKeon of Lichten Craig LLP

M. Grace Sielaff, ASID

Sarah Davis, ASID, Susan Fredman, ASID of Susan Fredman Design Group

Teri Tito, Megan Mazzocco, M. Grace Sielaff, ASID

Septetember 28-October 1st

Thermador launched their new Star Partner Program at the Zhou B Life Garden with a series of intimate dinner parties over four consecutive evenings. A special menu was created by J&L catering to celebrate this event. Over hundred of the top architects and interior designers were invited with 'star' guests such as Marvin Herman, Darcy Bonner and Sol Barket. Entertainment was provided by Fig DJ and violinist Edith Yokley.

Wayne Snyder , Kathy Walton, Olga Markoff , Nadia Hayek, Charles Grode

Richard and Nancy Becker

David Kaufman, Kiki Luthringshausen, Tom Segal, Wayne Dollmeyer

Ken Kheang, Kim Winzeler

Suchada Chaiyadej, Norma Chacon

Greg Jagmin , Kory Blosky


After hundreds of entries and 13 finalists, over 200 people came to the Lightology showroom to celebrate the Design With Light contest! Congrats to winners, Derek Porter who won first place and Sepp Spenlinhauer winner of the 'People's Choice Award"!

Winning entry designed by Derek Porter

Derek Porter, Jasmin Marie, John Clark, Kristin Taghon, Elliot Eakin, Dru Wallon, Joey Nicotera, Samuel Matson and Curtis Cassell

Brittany Krawczyk

Design With Light Finalist Curtis Cassell, Ryan McIntyre, Chris Tuttle, Mindy Meissen

Design With Light finalists Kristin Taghon and Jasmin Marie

Septetember 23rd

The Illinois Chapter of the International Interior Designers Association (IIDA), along with national benefactors, Herman Miller and Interior Design magazine honored Carlos Martinez, Principal & Firmwide Design Leader of Gensler , at its annual Leaders Breakfast held at the Palmer House Hotel (Chicago, Illinois). The event was attended by designers, industry leaders, contractors, developers, real estate brokers and key business leaders from the Chicagoland area.

Lisa Mettenbrink, Kate Connealy,
Eric Mersmann

Hideharu Sekino, Dianne Moriarty, Takeshi Miyata

Amy Stinson (IIDA Illinios Chapter President), Cheryl Durst (Executive VP of IIDA) Carlos Martinez (Honoree) Michele Rust (Event Chair)

Lynette Klein, Liz Potokar, Beth Fernandez

Amy Stinson and Dan Heath